35 Replies Latest reply on Nov 6, 2010 12:55 AM by IO90

Finally Flash SEO!!!

C-Rock Level 2
      I've been working on Flash's "flaws" for 5 years and why they were causing SEO problems. Finally I've found a way to fix them all. Today I received my proof from Google and Aol that my techniques worked!

First problem the dreaded back button. I've taken this script from free scripts on the web and floating around. I molded it to fit my style and my technique. My sites now use the browser history to go back through and all flash website. This was a major SEO problem before because some search engines wouldn't give you any position if you couldn't use the back button.

Second problem, the detection system. The older flash detection systems would take you back through the flash detection system with one click. Google gave you 0 rank if your site did this. With the new detection system and swfObject.js we don't deal with that anymore. Also the click to activate is gone, ahh nice!

Third problem, deep linking. This works now as a bonus to the back button. I can link to my site's portfolio page by sending this link out, Ohio Web Design
      Again this is an all flash site embedded into one html page.

Fourth and biggest problem, SEO in general, no content to crawl. Well using the swfObject technique your html alternate content gets replaced with the Flash file if the Flash detection is passed. Why is this important? Google doesn't follow the javascript files to load your flash content so they use your alternate html content to rank your site. Of course you can cheat with this and just place any old content in your alternate content. But be aware this is a black hat technique and you will get caught and banned from google. I asked on their webmaster forums and was answer by google employees themselves. You must make sure that your alternate content is very similar to your content in your site.