• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Expression to stop scaling in Child connected to Parent on Scale-Slider?

New Here ,
Jan 16, 2019 Jan 16, 2019

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hey gang- hope all is well.
I'm doing an After Effects project for a client, and I'm by no means an expert, and I need some help figuring out how to get some expressions working properly in relation to some parenting.
I'll see if I can describe it sans-pictures but I'll be happy to provide them if necessary.
There's three aspects to this particular bit of motion graphics- two parallel vertical lines (one parented to the other), one slider controlling ONLY the height-scale of the line (only attached to one line, but the other is parented to said line so it affects the height of both lines), and two separate little "dangly-bits" that extend and scale out of the bottom of the lines as they finish animating.
My client wants the slider to control the height of the lines for easy adjustment for future projects, without distorting or stretching the little flairs that come off them regardless of the size. Easy enough, as I've said I've got one line set to only scale vertically to the slider with this expression I found:
temp=thisComp.layer("VerticalSlider").effect("Slider Control")("Slider");
[temp,100]
The second line is then parented to this line, and voila, they scale just like I want.

The problem comes with the dangly-bits. I want them to always be at the same position hanging off the bottom of the line no matter the length of the lines they're on. Parenting them to the lines themselves does this, but they scale vertically and squish or extend in accordance with the lines' extending with the slider.