2 Replies Latest reply on Feb 4, 2008 10:28 AM by stoopkid

Checking for an empty DataGrid

stoopkid Level 1
      Hello everyone! I'm working on an application for my University (NIU), and I'm almost finished but I'm having issues with one problem; checking if a datagrid is empty or not.

The application sends an HTTPService request, and I have a result handler that I want to use to see if the DataGrid is filled or not. It's possible that users could search, but not get any results back. I'm trying to scan if a DataGrid is empty or not. Here is what I have so far, but it doesn't work =(

if(urDG.rowCount==0) {
      Alert.show("No Result");
      } else {
      status1.text="Finished!";
      }

Help is greatly appreciated! I'm a student application developer, so I still have lots to learn!
        • 1. Re: Checking for an empty DataGrid
          Ratsnackbar Level 2
          Well rowCount is only going to show the number of rows that will actually be displayed in the grid. So for example if you had a grid that defaults to displaying 5 rows REGARDLESS of what was returned by the data provider. (I.E. no data you still see 5 empty rows.) then using that as your indicator will not work. (At least I believe that is correct. Anyone feel free to correct me if I am wrong.)

Even still what you want to do is to count the the number of records in your data provider. For example of you are using a List, Array or ArrayCollection you can use the Length property.

Example:

[Bindable]
          private var myGridDP:ArrayCollection = new ArrayCollection();

// WebService or RemoteObject call to propigate the array collection here. I recommend RemoteObjects through //AMF to a ColdFusion back end. WebService's are for those who cannot figure out ColdFusion. :D

In your data grid MXML call bind to the array collection:
          <mx:DataGrid id="myGrid" dataProvider="{this.myGridDP}" click="doSomething();" width="100%">