8 Replies Latest reply on Feb 7, 2008 4:43 PM by nephish

how to dray circle newbie

nephish
      Greetings there all,
      i am brand new to flash and flex programming, and just started going through some tutorials for flex buillder 2 .
      What i cannot seem to find is any tutorials on how to draw shapes. I need to be able to draw a circle, and modify how the circle appears ( size, color, position, etc.. ) based on data that i will pass to it.
      So, do i need to install extra components? Or can i do all of this from what is existant in the flex builder 2?
      And, if anyone has some link to some how-to sites that cover this sort of thing, i would much appreciate it.
      thanks.
        • 1. Re: how to dray circle newbie
          peterent Level 2
          Keep this in mind: FLEX is the MXML files and ActionScript classes in the mx.* packages while FLASH is the runtime environment. The Flex compiler produces Flash code in the form of a SWF. I think it is important for you to understand what's going on so it makes more sense.

Flex has no drawing functions - drawing is purely a Flash feature. Nearly every Flex control and container is capable of displaying Flash graphics - that's really what you see when you look at Flex buttons, links, and so forth.

To draw a circle in the Flex application you need to access the Flash Graphics object of the control or container. Let's say you'd like to draw your circle in a Flex Canvas:

<mx:Canvas xmlns:mx="...">
          <mx:Script><![CDATA[
          override protected function updateDisplayList( unscaledWidth:Number, unscaledHeight:Number ) : void
          {
          super.updateDisplayList( unscaledWidth, unscaledHeight );

// always clear the graphics before drawing into it
          graphics.clear();

// set your line style if you want the circle to have a border:
          graphics.lineStyle( thickness, color, alpha ); // eg: (1, 0xff0000, 1 ); - a red line

// set your fill.