2 Replies Latest reply on Mar 12, 2008 10:42 AM by Ken_Nielsen

Slideshow play/pause button?

FreddyU
      I am just starting to learn actionscript so I really don't know what I'm doing!

I am looking to make a button that will play or pause my photo slideshow. So it will basically just be starting and stopping movement down the timeline I guess... Problem is, the play and pause will perform two different tasks and look like two different buttons. So I need to know how I can make the button and its actions change as it is clicked. Below is my very crude solution, using the tad bit of actionscript I think I might possibly know...

Another problem... will my fullscreen command work in a web browser?

EDIT: Also, I want the variable for playButtonActive or pauseButtonActive to change when the button is clicked. Do you understand what I am trying to do.... Sorry for my lack of knowledge.
        • 1. Re: Slideshow play/pause button?
          RossRitchey Level 4
          Make 2 buttons, one for pause and one for play. Make them the exact same dimensions, and place the Play button on top of the Pause button (same x and y coordinates). They already have instanceNames by your code.

Code::

myPauseButton.onPress = function(){
          myPlayButton._visible = true;
          stop();
          }

myPlayButton.onPress = function(){
          myPlayButton._visible = false;
          play();
          }

OR, if you want the pause and play buttons separate on the screen (both always visible);

myPlayButton.enabled = true;
          myPauseButton.enabled = false;
          stop();
          }

myPlayButton.enabled = false;
          myPauseButton.enabled = true;
          play();
          }

Fullscreen can work from the browser, I have never had the need to do it, though, so I am unsure if a simple fscommand will work, or if you will need some more things as well.
          • 2. Re: Slideshow play/pause button?
            Ken_Nielsen Level 1