17 Replies Latest reply on Jan 15, 2009 8:53 AM by Kronin555

Parsing XML

Sam_Ham
      I'm a bit of a noob with parsing XML with coldfusion and I could use some help with an issue.

I'm trying to parse the following XML file;
      http://www.bbc.co.uk/travelnews/tpeg/en/local/rtm/rtm_tpeg.xml

and I get the following error;

Character conversion error: "Illegal ASCII character, 0xe9" (line number may be too low).
      The error occurred on line 9.

I can post my code if this is helpful? But it works fine when parsing a different XML file.

Any ideas?
        • 1. Re: Parsing XML
          Level 7
          Sam_Ham wrote:
          > I'm a bit of a noob with parsing XML with coldfusion and I could use some help
          > with an issue.
          >
          > I'm trying to parse the following XML file;
          > http://www.bbc.co.uk/travelnews/tpeg/en/local/rtm/rtm_tpeg.xml
          >

Well the first thing I can tell you is that Firefox says this is not
          well formed XML file. And as such can't be processed as XML.

If Firefox can't do it, I doubt that ColdFusion can.

• 2. Re: Parsing XML
            Level 7
            > Character conversion error: "Illegal ASCII character, 0xe9" (line number may
            > be too low).
            > The error occurred on line 9.

The error message pretty much tells you what's wrong. There's an 0xE9
            character in the doc, which is illegal in XML. It's not a well-formed XML
            doc, so you can't treat it as one.

You should probably do two things:
            1) if the parse fails for reasons like this, catch the exception in the UI
            (or wherever appropriate) and put a warning message in along the lines of
            "sorry, the traffic service is not currently available).
            2) get in touch with the Beeb and tell them their developers need a lesson
            in creating XML docs.

--
            Adam
            • 3. Re: Parsing XML
              Level 7