3 Replies Latest reply on Mar 8, 2008 7:33 PM by YG_NJ

General Question - Flash or Flex

YG_NJ
      I am an executive responsible for a RIA application project for my company... I am not a developer.
      The application we are building involves live video chat, non-live video player, text chat, and more...

I am trying to create an attractive design which will allow minimizing of different components, drag-drop functions, movement, etc.
      When suggesting working with Flex my designer told me Flex is not as flexible as Flash and limits you in terms of design assets you can use. He was specifically talking about pixel size of the different elements.

Is this really a limitation? Will I be only able to use the existing templated Flex UI components, or can they be customized / re-designed?

Thanks foryour help.
        • 1. Re: General Question - Flash or Flex
          Garyl Woolworth Level 1
          I would personally go with a mixture of the two. As far as the RIA is concerned with the video chat, text chat, and all of your features I think you would have a much easier time developing those components within Flex then you would Flash. However getting something to really look nice is accomplished much easier within Flash seeing as how Flex's only drawing tools consist of code. So depending on your design itself you can go very very deep into getting something to look good with using CSS Styles themselves however there are limitations that CSS isn't just gonna get the look you want which is when it's time to switch over to what's called "Skinning" this is where you replace the skin of the component itself with one that's more desirable to your design. You can develop your skins or photoshop and use either the exported SWF or image to completely change the look of the component.