6 Replies Latest reply on Mar 18, 2008 2:19 PM by Mike_Adams_Productions

How to launch a program from Director?

davdavdavdav Level 1
      Hi, I'm new to Director.

I want the user of my Director movie to click on a button that launches Adobe Acrobat and a help file (external to the Director movie).

How do I do this?
        • 1. Re: How to launch a program from Director?
          Level 7
          The easiest way is to use the buddyAPI xtra. It has a command

baOpenFile()

Which is a one liner that will do what you need. You can download it
          from www.mods.com.au/budapi. It is free to use up to 2 functions.
          • 2. Re: How to launch a program from Director?
            Level 7
            davdavdavdav wrote:

> I want the user of my Director movie to click on a button that launches Adobe Acrobat and a help file (external to the Director movie).

Openinga PDF in Director is very much a FAQ. I have it covered in more detail in my PDF FAQ at:
            http://www.deansdirectortutorials.com/FAQ/pdf.htm

As Mike said, the easiest way is with buddyAPI. baOpenFile() Buddy Lingo will open a specified file with the application associated to the
            file.

regards
            Dean

Director Lecturer / Consultant / Director Enthusiast
            http://www.deansdirectortutorials.com/
            http://www.multimediacreative.com.au
            email: d.utian@unsw.edu.au

• 3. Re: How to launch a program from Director?
              Mike_Adams_Productions Level 1
              I have a similar question... can Director be used to launch a program? I understand that you can tell it to open a file, in which case the default application is automatically launched, but can you give it a specific command line to execute?