5 Replies Latest reply on Mar 11, 2008 1:48 AM by johnbarrett1

Flex Builder 3 will not work on Mac

johnbarrett1
      Flex Builder 3 & Mac OSX:

The hard disk on my mac failed, lost everything, including Flex Builder 2. I installed a new hard disk, and downloaded the "trial" of Flex Builder 3 (FB 3). The software seemed to install fine(no errors in the install log).

However, when I run FB 3, the default front page does not load, and tells me that the flash player as stopped because of a un-safe operation. I think okay, that is fine, but I do like the page with the links to the docs, and adobe resources. I try to build an app, default just dragged a button on the stage, and complied. However, the page does not compile. I only get the "grey" page, with no button.

After this I re-installed the flash player (9.0.115), but still no love. I have re-installed FB 3, but the same results.
      I am using Mac OS X (power PC). Can anybody help me. I am a student at the University of Hawaii, and I am teaching myself Flex. I am thinking that the error might be with the flash player, and I am trying to install flash CS3, thinking that if I can get the stand alone flash player that way, maybe then this will work.

Please help,
      John
        • 1. Re: Flex Builder 3 will not work on Mac
          Michael_Latta Level 1
          I am not sure what is going on, but it does work. Try starting with one of the tutorial projects and see if that works any better. Are you using the stand alone FB3 or the plug-in? Since it is a new hard disk I presume you did not have any version installed before. FB has some weirdness if there was a prior version that was not fully uninstalled.
          • 2. Re: Flex Builder 3 will not work on Mac
            johnbarrett1 Level 1
            Hi Michael,