4 Replies Latest reply on Mar 12, 2008 9:20 AM by AashayD

Performance of Dynamically adding Custom Components

AashayD
      Hello there. I'm relatively new to Flex development, so please bear with me on this one.

I'm trying to figure out if anybody has solved the performance issue of adding lots (in this example, 100) of custom components to their flex apps dynamically. Allow me to put this into context:

I have a custom component called MyCustomComponent, which simply contains 3 Text components (text1, text2, and text3).

I want to add 100 MyCustomComponent instances to a vbox dynamically.

The example I'm using looks like this:

quote:

for(var i:int = 0; i < 100; i++)
      {
      var MyComponent:MyCustomComponent = new MyCustomComponent();

myvbox.addChild(MyComponent); //some vbox in the parent app

MyComponent.text1.text = "Text" + String(i);
      MyComponent.text2.text = "3/11/2008";

MyComponent.text3.text = "Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet consectetuer tristique eleifend velit p" +
      "latea quis. In nonummy massa Phasellus condimentum ligula tincidunt interdum vel justo " +
      "Aenean. Mollis sagittis semper pharetra sed semper non eget lacus ultrices Morbi. In " +
      "neque Lorem leo volutpat Vestibulum ut nibh elit Nam quis. Venenatis orci eleifend" +
      " ut sapien pellentesque arcu sem libero eu ligula. Orci eros Donec ipsum netus Pe" +
      "llentesque pharetra Curabitur neque semper justo. Vitae tempus Sed."

}

I've noticed that the performance for this is quite unacceptable (10-15 seconds, and it locks the application while processing). I'm on a relatively modern machine using a dual-core processor and 2 gigs of RAM, and I've never seen any poor performance on any Flex app I've used.

Has anybody overcome this challenge, or is this a known issue with Flex? Or, is there a better way to add lots of dynamic component instances?

Thanks in advance!

• 1. Re: Performance of Dynamically adding Custom Components
          AashayD Level 1