5 Replies Latest reply on May 7, 2008 11:21 AM by NecroSaint

Amatuer programming :S

NecroSaint
      Ok this is just to play around atm. im a beginner with actionscript have done some java coding in the past but ont on great scale. I am trying to make a program so that when i press a button (Space bar in this case) a ball is formed, grows to a certain size, then is fired all by holding down this button, but if i let go of the button i want the ball to return to its orginal position at a 0,0 size so it is not visible.

So far i can code the different effects i want, like making the ball grow and making it move, but not one button press. And i can't work out how to make it go back to it orginal state when i let go of space.

Also can someone please tell me how to make a game so that when i choose choices that come up on a screen an animation is played.

For me the most helpful way would be if someone posted the script explaining what each line did and maybe posted this in use in flash so i can see if it is what i want. Thanks in advance.

James.
        • 1. Re: Amatuer programming :S
          FlashTastic Level 1
          Hi James,

Here is a quick sample. This code assumes you have 2 movieclips, one names bullet, and one named weapon on the stage.

Cheers,
          Flashtastic
          • 2. Re: Amatuer programming :S
            NecroSaint Level 1
            Ok thankyou so much! (but is that really a quick sample). I understand nearly all of this code but i dont like using codes without understanding them, what does the key listener do, and also why do i have to insert a movie clip named weapon. Once again thanks in advance :)

James.
            • 3. Re: Amatuer programming :S
              NecroSaint Level 1