4 Replies Latest reply on Aug 25, 2006 9:21 AM by peterent

Controll scrollbar appearance

rkloppmann
      hi all

Currently I'm evaluating Flex as the new UI for our CMS. So I'm pretty new to flex and of course do have some questions... :-) and hope that one of you guys can point me in the right direction.

I have a mxml document which contains a <mx:ViewStack ...> element.
      One of the <mx:Box ..> elements of the viewStack ist pretty long. This obviously causes a scrollbar to appear at lower screen resolutions or smaller windows.
      My problem is that the scrollbar appears according to the <mx:ViewStack ...> element.

What I would like to have is a scrollbar only for the <mx:Box ..> element (which contains a formular) and not for the whole <mx:ViewStack ...> element.
      I guess the problem is that the <mx:Box ..> has the properties width="100%" height="100%"
      If i change the %-values to concrete values the scrollbar appears only for the <mx:Box ..>.
      But this does not look nice because then the scrollbar sits right in the middle of the screens - which even looks worse on higher resolutions.

Hope anybody can hel me.
      If it helps I can paste some of the mxml code here..

Thx!
        • 1. Re: Controll scrollbar appearance
          peterent Level 2
          For this to work you need to have the ViewStack with height="100%" and then create a new container and place your current box into that. Set the new child's height to 100%.

old way:
          <mx:ViewStack height="100%" ...>
          <mx:Box id="currentBox" ... />

new way:
          <mx:ViewStack height="100%" ...>
          <mx:Box id="newbox" height="100%">
          <mx:Box id="currentbox" > <!-- no height specified -->