6 Replies Latest reply on Aug 24, 2006 6:56 PM by benotom

Server side event

benotom
      Hello,
      I am new to flex. I am trying to do a flex page that has a data grid and a button. When the user click on the button, I want the event to somehow get propagated to the server and do some processing on the server side and change the values in the datagrid (without doing a page refresh). I cannot use Flex Data services.
      With this restriction, can someone please tell me how to achieve this?
      thank you!
        • 1. Re: Server side event
          ntsiii Level 3
          Sure.

Use one of the three "RPC" protocols, WebService, HTTPService, or RemoteObject.

What is your server-side platform of choice?

Tracy
          • 2. Re: Server side event
            benotom Level 1
            I tried http service with URL pointing to an xml document.
            The data grid is initially populated with data from XML. When user click on a button, I want the event to propagate to the server where I can act on this event, change the data in XML and somehow get this data refreshed on the UI.
            So when the data changes on the XML, somehow I have to push this data to the client. How will flex know if XML file got updated with new data on the server?
            thank you!
            • 3. Re: Server side event
              ntsiii Level 3
              You can't "push" data to the client without FDS. Well, you could set up as TCP socket connection, but that is a bit difficult.

Is the processing of the data you need to do necessarily asynchronous?

An HTTPService call can wait for normal server-side processing to complete and return the modified data, unless this process is very slow. I do this regularly: Send data to the server, process it, and send back a result. It is fairly simple.

What is your server-side platform of choice?

Tracy
              • 4. Re: Server side event
                benotom Level 1