4 Replies Latest reply on Aug 24, 2006 7:43 AM by brainubmbc

dataProviders and Components

brainubmbc
      I made a simple component which makes an HTTPService call to a php script to get some information and populate a datagrid. it runs just fine.

When I include it in another mxml file it runs just fine and pulls the data,. I was pretty excited that I got it to work (As you can tell I'm new to Flex.. trying out the developer's guide)... but when I select any of the items in the datagrid I get the following error: "The supplied DisplayObject must be a child of the caller"... only in the "TestProject.mxml" page do I get this error, not when I run the actual component by itself

Here's the component "MyDataGrids.mxml" (with the domain name changes to protect the innocent):

<?xml version="1.0"?>
      <mx:Application xmlns:mx=" http://www.adobe.com/2006/mxml">
      <mx:HTTPService id="userRequest" url=" http://mydomain.com/test/testquery.php" useProxy="false"/>
      <mx:DataGrid id="dgUserRequest" dataProvider="{userRequest.lastResult.users.user}" creationComplete="userRequest.send();">
      <mx:columns>
      <mx:DataGridColumn headerText="User ID" dataField="userid"/>
      <mx:DataGridColumn headerText="User Name" dataField="username"/>
      </mx:columns>
      </mx:DataGrid>
      </mx:Application>

Here's my mxml file that calls it (TestProject.mxml):

<?xml version="1.0"?>
      <mx:Application xmlns:mx=" http://www.adobe.com/2006/mxml" xmlns:MyComps="*">
      <MyComps:MyDataGrids/>
      </mx:Application>

Pretty basic, huh?

Technically, it works the way I intended it. I just wanted a datagrid that pulled information from a mySQL database and could easily be re-used in different mxml files. It does just that so I feel *some* sense of accomplishment. I never intended the project to have any functionality when I selected a datagrid item, I just thought it was weird this error message popped up.