6 Replies Latest reply on Sep 1, 2006 1:42 PM by crabshell2k

Loading an external swf

crabshell2k
      I'm trying to edit a disappearing developer's FLA where the link to an external SWF is somehow broken. The button that triggers the SWF has the following action tied to it:

on (release)
      {
      gotoAndPlay("collection")
      }

There is no scene named "collection", only an external swf called "spring.swf". When I change the actionscript to refer to "spring.swf" I get nothing.

There is a script layer that has a single frame with a reference to spring.swf. It's action reads:

stop()
      loadVariables("flash/spring.swf",placeholder).

This action occurs on the same frame as an instance of the button.

I am a novice to say the least and am totally baffled. Thanks for any advice.

• 1. Re: Loading an external swf
          derobinson Level 1
          The reference to "collection" is to a frame label, not a scene, so look back through the timline (or use the movie/script explorer inthe Actionscript panel) to find a frame with that name. The button doesn't have anything to do with the loading of the external SWF, that's handle in the second bit of code you have there....though I have to say I've never seen loadVariables used to pull in a SWF...that should probably be loadMovie instead.

Hope that helps!
          • 2. Re: Loading an external swf
            crabshell2k Level 1
            That makes sense -- frame labels. You learn something new... And the loadMovie seems to have fixed the problem. Another life saved -- thanks much!
            • 3. Re: Loading an external swf
              derobinson Level 1
              My pleasure! Good luck!
              • 4. Re: Loading an external swf
                crabshell2k Level 1