12 Replies Latest reply on Aug 21, 2006 11:35 AM by jla2w

LoadVariablesNum

jla2w
      I load a variable from a text document into a frame on my flash movie. It is the homepage of my web site. When you view the home page the first time it works. But if you then browse the other frames in my movie and come back to the hompage the text will show up, but the links are not active, and then, if you resize the explorer window, the text disappears. HELP?! I do not know why that is happening. I am relatively new to actionscript.
        • 1. Re: LoadVariablesNum
          Level 7
          jla2w,

> But if you then browse the other frames in my movie and
          > come back to the hompage the text will show up, but the
          > links are not active, and then, if you resize the explorer
          > window, the text disappears. HELP?!

Would you post the ActionScript you're using?

> I do not know why that is happening.

Ha! Neither do we. ;) Let's see your code.

David Stiller
          Adobe Community Expert
          Dev blog, http://www.quip.net/blog/
          "Luck is the residue of good design."

• 2. Re: LoadVariablesNum
            jla2w Level 1
            this is the code in the layer for the frame where the text is loaded.

loadVariablesNum("news.txt",0);

• 3. Re: LoadVariablesNum
              jla2w Level 1
              if you would like to see the site... www.ifpress.com
              • 4. Re: LoadVariablesNum
                jla2w Level 1
                the dynamic text box is called

_root.currentnews

and the text file reads like this,

_root.currentnews=
                <br><b>Fall 2006 Short Course: </br></b>
                <br></br>
                <br>November 6-10, 2006 </br>
                <br>The Greenbrier, White Sulphur Springs, WV </br>
                <br>Enrollment is limited*</br>
                <br></br>
                <br><b>2006 Student Award:</b></br>
                <br></br>