2 Replies Latest reply on Jul 25, 2006 6:02 PM by blemmo

figuring out a strange line in the code.

Level 7
      Hello all, First time poster.

i've been teaching myself actionscript for a couple of months now, right now i'm
      trying to figure out the code in a movie sample a friend sent me.

i have pretty much figured everything else in the movie except this line

attachedObj.display = displayStar;

there is a function called displayStar, i just cant figure out what the
      '.display' thing is ..

Thanks ..
        • 1. Re: figuring out a strange line in the code.
          injpix Level 3
          I can take a stab at it but it’s hard to say without seeing more code.

attachedObj.display = displayStar;

I assume the variable name “attachedObj” represents an Object (datatype) that is attached/created perhaps by an event (a userclick, enter frame, etc.). The “.display” is a property/attribute of that object. attachedObj can have several of these properties. And you mentioned that “displayStar” is a function. It sounds like that there is a function and variable named “displayStar”. The reason why is that if that was a function it would need to be like this;

attachedObj.display = displayStar();

…and in that function it would have to return a value. However it is not like this. So I am assuming that it’s a variable that perhaps could reside inside displayStar function. Does that help?
          • 2. Re: figuring out a strange line in the code.
            blemmo Level 1
            Hi and welcome.

When 'displayStar' is a function, the 'display' thing should also be a function type, so I guess it's some event defined in that object's class. It should be a custom class, because Flash's Object class has no 'display' event.