5 Replies Latest reply on Jul 27, 2006 6:56 AM by Nickels55

Flash buttons!

danturn100 Level 1
      i have a logo of a lightning bolt which i want want to change colour when rolled over but play a small animation of flashing when clicked on beofre loading a seperate HTML page.

i made the rollover image and put that on the "over" keyframe
      i made the flashing animation as a seperate flash movice and have put that on the "down" keyframe

now, when i rollover the image changes colour fine and when i click and hold it plays the animation, but if i just click it reverts to the "over state"

is there any way of getting it to ignore the "over" state once the "down" state is activated?

im new to flash, i could do this in about 3 seconds in Director! (RIP)

x
        • 1. Re: Flash buttons!
          behived_new Level 1
          maybe you can start to use a movieclip as a button.
          give the mc an instance name.
          Instead of putting the actions on the button, you can put all actions in a frame like this:

button1.onPress=function(){
          //here you put your actions
          }
          button1.onRollover=function(){
          //here you can put some other actions
          }

advantages: all your code is on 1 place, you never have to search for some code again.
          you can put more control on your buttons, but it demands a little more scripting.
          • 2. Re: Flash buttons!
            danturn100 Level 1
            thats great, id rather use more action script! i just couldnt work out how to put action script on a button as it says you cant on the up/down/over/hit frames!

ill try it out now

dan
            • 3. Re: Flash buttons!
              danturn100 Level 1
              ok, i have the code:

LOGO.onPress=function(){
              nextFrame();
              }

on frame 1 but... it doesnt stop and wait for user input, i tried putting stop(); at the beginning and the end and that doesnt seem to help