10 Replies Latest reply on Jan 13, 2009 10:14 AM by Newsgroup_User

"click here"

takevin
      Since im a graphic designer, not a web designer, i looked up info on the do's and dont's of web design when i constructed a new website for work. One of the biggest things i thought and what i read that "click here" is 80's and cheesy, not professional. I made some .gif links from the old website and changed it from click here to "See here". Is "click here" a ok or otherwise for wording a link?? Thanks! Just read what the W3C said about it too.
        • 1. Re: "click here"
          Level 7
          Just change it from "Click here" to something more meaningful, like "For
          full-sized image, click", or "Click to submit form", or "Click for
          download"....

And 'Click here' alone is not OK.

--
          Murray --- ICQ 71997575
          Adobe Community Expert
          (If you *MUST* email me, don't LAUGH when you do so!)
          ==================
          http://www.projectseven.com/go - DW FAQs, Tutorials & Resources
          http://www.dwfaq.com - DW FAQs, Tutorials & Resources
          ==================

"takevin" <webforumsuser@macromedia.com> wrote in message
          news:gkfnor$lqo$1@forums.macromedia.com...
          > Since im a graphic designer, not a web designer, i looked up info on the
          > do's
          > and dont's of web design when i constructed a new website for work. One of
          > the
          > biggest things i thought and what i read that "click here" is 80's and
          > cheesy.
          > I made some .gif links from the old website and changed it from click here
          > to
          > "See here". My boss wants to go back to click here. Is "click here" a ok
          > or
          > otherwise for wording a link?? Thanks!
          >

• 2. Re: &quot;click here&quot;
            Level 7
            takevin wrote:
            > Since im a graphic designer, not a web designer, i looked up info on the do's