1 2 Previous Next 51 Replies Latest reply on Oct 2, 2006 12:54 PM by kenewing

Embedding a series of stop points in a timeline

kenewing
      I have Flash 8 running on Windows XP. I’m just learning to use it. I’ve been through the training from Total Training and I’ve completed a successful project. Now I want to do something more with the project and I don’t know how to proceed.

I want to embed a series of checkpoints in the timeline. Then I want to create a button called “Step” that, when clicked, will play the movie up to the next checkpoint, then stop. Click “Step” again and you resume the movie at that point and stop at the next checkpoint. This will let me step through the movie and have it pause it at predetermined points.

Thanks for any input.
        • 1. Re: Embedding a series of stop points in a timeline
          Level 7
          kenewing,

> I want to embed a series of checkpoints in the timeline.
          > Then I want to create a button called ?Step? that, when
          > clicked, will play the movie up to the next checkpoint,
          > then stop.

Sounds like you may want to put a frame script at each of these
          checkpoints that simply says stop();. Have your button tell the main
          timeline to play(); -- that should do it. The main timeline is a movie
          clip, like any movie clip symbol, so it will continue to play until told to
          stop.

Does that make sense?

David Stiller
          Adobe Community Expert
          Dev blog, http://www.quip.net/blog/
          "Luck is the residue of good design."

• 2. Re: Embedding a series of stop points in a timeline
            kenewing Level 1