8 Replies Latest reply on Sep 7, 2006 12:47 AM by Peter Lorent

Inheriting from MovieClip

ajitn
      Hi all,
      I'm new to Flash and I'm new to OOP, and so I'm having a bit of trouble writing ActionScript programs to do exactly what I want.

I am trying to create a simple application, in which a MovieClip is dragged around the screen and a textbox gets updated with the MovieClip's coordinates somewhere else on the screen. I wanted to do this using custom classes, so I created a class called MovieClipCoordinates that would contain a MovieClip and a TextField. I am initializing the MovieClip as the output of a this.createEmptyMovieClip() of the main movie, and the TextField similarly.

My intention is to have the TextField updated whenever the MovieClip is dragged. So, in the onRelease function of the MovieClip, I need to update the TextField of the MovieClipCoordinates object that the MovieClip is a property of.

The problem is, I have no idea how to find out the MovieClipCoordinates that the MovieClip belongs to. I thought I would create a method in the MovieClipCoordinates class that would set the TextField, which would be called from the MovieClip.onRelease. So I figured I would not have a MovieClip inside the MovieClipCoordinates class, but instead another class inherited from MovieClip which also contains a reference to the MovieClipCoordinates class that it is a member of. However, the problem now is that I can no longer create this subclass through a call to createEmptyMovieClip. So how do I create it?

I'm getting a bit confused at this point of time. Could someone please give me some idea of how to do this?

Thanks.
      Ajit
        • 1. Re: Inheriting from MovieClip
          Peter Lorent Level 2
          Have a look at the attached class. Hope it helps.

• 2. Re: Inheriting from MovieClip
            pls could you explain where do we have to put these codes? in Laye1 : Frame 1 actions?
            • 3. Re: Inheriting from MovieClip