7 Replies Latest reply on Sep 29, 2006 2:04 PM by Nickels55

Run SWF on mouseover

skateblade Level 1
      Hi,
      I’m very new at this, but I have created a flash file and added it to a web page and would like it to start running when someone mouses over the image. Can anybody explain if or how I can do it in very easy terms?
      Thanks for any help anybody can provide.
        • 1. Re: Run SWF on mouseover
          Realtoast Level 1
          I am no expert, myself. But, one way to do this would be to:
          1. keep your main timeline clean. In other words, don't make your main movie in the main timeline. Instead, make your movie a movieclip that you would then place in frame 1 of the main timeline; give it an instance name. Be sure to put a stop(); action in the first frame of your movieclip, so it doesn't take off on its own.
          2. create an invisible button object. Place the invisButton object on top of that [instanceName] movie clip (on its own layer) that you have placed on the stage.
          3. select the invisible button, and open your actions panel. Place the following code in the invis button's action panel (I've used a_mc as my instance name of the movieclip)

on (rollOver) {
          this.a_mc.gotoAndPlay(2);
          }
          on (rollOut) {
          this.a_mc.gotoAndStop(1);
          }

Now, when you publish your movie, the swf will play only when mouse is over it.

Notice that I put actionscript in the last frame of the movieclip, directing it to gotoAndPlay(2). This keeps the movie playing as long as the mouse is over.

Click here for a sample .fla
          • 2. Re: Run SWF on mouseover
            ChrisFlynn
            Create a new scene that will come before you're current movie.

Create 2 layers, one called 'actions', the other 'btn'. In the actions layer, add a stop();

If you don't already have a label where you movie starts, I'd add a layer with just a label on it, call it "Start".