7 Replies Latest reply on Oct 5, 2006 3:52 PM by Ham0

Flex Success Stories

Level 1
      (Sorry to duplicate this post from the Flex 1.5 forum: I posted it originally via the news feed, which is just entitled "macromedia.flex.general_discussion"; it wasn't until I checked the web version of the forums that I realised there's different forums for each version. I meant to ask this of a Flex 2.0 audience)

Hi there.
      I have heard a lot of developers sing the praises of how wonderful Flex is,
      and as a developer myself, it's certainly an improvement over using
      Flash.exe to author Flash movies, for certain applications.

However what I am struggling to find is "real world" production scenarios
      where it's ("it" being "Flex" and the whole "RIA" concept) actually proven
      to be of much use.

Situations I'm investigating:
      1) Companies that have had an existing HTML-based web presence which
      decided to jump to a Flex-driven RIA solution, and experienced an up-turn
      in business.

2) Companies which did NOT have an existing HTML-based web presence, and
      decided to go for a Flex / Flash UI as opposed to an HTML one, the
      rationale for doing so, and their resultant findings (harder to quantify
      the comparitive benefits in this case, I realise).

We're finding Flex to be be difficult to justify as a technology. I don't
      disagree that it's interesting and it *should* be a (cliche alert) "killer
      app", but I don't actually see it in the real world.

We have had a relationship with Macromedia (not sure how this translates to
      Adobe), and had asked them, but they never actually came up with anything
      (which is worrying). There seems to be a lot of claims of how great all
      this RIA is, but not a lot of tangible evidence that it's great enough for
      anyone with a cheque book to actually care.

So here I am asking the community. Does anyone have any analysis or case