11 Replies Latest reply on Aug 7, 2006 10:47 AM by Josh Johnson

Flex builder 2 - Lacking in power?

John2
      Hi

I am a coldfusion developer - have used cfeclipse - but its not as good for tag support as dreamweaver..... - YET :)

i am using a trial flex builder and i find that not being able to right click and have it bring up all the properties is really poor
      also when you are typing the code hints are really poor - ok so it can hint mx:image - but then it lists every option - not just the image options

I think that flex builder is pretty poor - when you consider how powerfull dream weaver is.

am I wrong ?
        • 1. Re: Flex builder 2 - Lacking in power?
          David Zuckerman (Adobe)
          When you say code hints lists mx:Image and then all the other image options, are you referring to the properties that are available on mx:Image?

In terms of language intelligence, what would you add to Flex Builder to make the code hints more closely resemble what you are looking for? Any specfic feedback we get can potentially be incorporated into the next versions of Flex Builder 2.

• 2. Re: Flex builder 2 - Lacking in power?
            Bret_Patterson
            I noticed the same thing about the code hints, it just lists too many to be of any use in most situations. I find it faster to have a browser up and read the livedocs instead.

I would list all of the properties for that class first with seperator and then list the inherited properties optionally. Or better yet go through each object and selectively mark the most commonly used properties and show those and then have a option to turn on all properties.

Having a 150 property window sorted alphabetically is not real useful when your not sure what the property is called that you need, which is when code hints is useful.
            • 3. Re: Flex builder 2 - Lacking in power?
              doug777 Level 1