6 Replies Latest reply on Jul 20, 2006 12:19 PM by brananc1

Loading Variables

brananc1
      Hello all,
      I am new to flash (been playing with actionscript 2.0 for about 2 months). I am creating a game for my daughter and I need to load to variables (movieclips) on the stage. It will only let me load one or the other. Is there a way to do this? again I am still learning actionscript.

Thanks for the help.
        • 1. Re: Loading Variables
          Wolf_van_Ween Level 1
          What are you trying? How does your actionscript look like?
          • 2. Re: Loading Variables
            brananc1 Level 1
            I am trying to place a shapes pn the screen and then have her pick the correct shape and color in sentence form. IE there is a red circle on the screen and then she has to choose which answer is correct A, B, or C. Here is the code:
            var circle1MC:MovieClip = this.attachMovie("circle1"+"_mc", "circle1"+_global.cDepth+"_mc", _global.cDepth);
            circle1MC._y =600
            circle1MC._x =250
            circle1MC;
            var rc1MC:MovieClip = this.attachMovie("Red Circle"+"_mc", "Red Circle"+_global.cDepth+"_mc", _global.cDepth);
            rc1MC._y =400
            rc1MC._x =500
            rc1MC.onPress = function() {
            if (rc1MC.hitTest(_xmouse, _ymouse, false)){
            _global.correct++;
            • 3. Re: Loading Variables
              Wolf_van_Ween Level 1
              Very complicated code for something quite simple.
              First the mistake: you're using _global.cDepth as the depth in both cases, so that the second movieClip overwrites the first.
              Either you store the depth in a variable as you do, but then increase that variable: _global.cDepth++ or you go the normal way and choose the next available free depth in both cases: this.getNextHighestDepth()

Other remarks: