11 Replies Latest reply on Sep 6, 2006 5:26 PM by m_ahlenius

Selection.setFocus problem

m_ahlenius
      Hi,

I am a novice at best at Action Script. Am trying to use Selection.setFocus() to highlight a region of text in an input text field. But when I position the cursor using; Selection.setSelection( strLen - 2, strLen - 1 ); it puts a "1" digit inside the text string in the display. Am sure I must be doing something wrong, but can't figure it out.

strLen is set to the current length of the input text string.

If I change the position to just (strlen, strlen), it appends a "1" to the end of the input field line.

Can someone please help me out here?

thanks much,

'mark
        • 1. Re: Selection.setFocus problem
          kglad Adobe Community Professional & MVP
          the code you showed wouldn't cause that. show the rest of your code affecting your textfield.
          • 2. Selection.setFocus problem
            m_ahlenius Level 1
            Anyone? Need some help with this weird side effect.

With Selection.setSelection( x, y), the text underneath and does not get highlighted, but is wiped out and replaced with a "1". Really weird. If I put the selected area at the end of the string, it appends a "1" there.

Now to be fair, I inherited this code, so some I have only modified this print function with the Selection features... (typed in, not cut and pasted)

function myPrint() {
            // if this is the first item in the list, don't add a newline char
            newLine = (strLen != 0 ) ? "\n" : "";
            // append the new task to the existing ones
            _root.mcDictation.displayText.text += (newLine + my_str);
            var strLen:Number = _root.mcDictation.displayText.length;
            _root.mcDictation.displayText.backgroundColor = 0xFFFF00;

Selection.setFocus("_root.mcDictation.displayText");
            Selection.setSelection( strLen - 5, strLen +1 );

_root.mcDictation.displayText.backgroundColor = 0xFFFFFF;
            }