8 Replies Latest reply on Sep 8, 2006 1:26 PM by Newsgroup_User

I'm a newbie and need some basic help...

MikeTheVike24
      I'm a newb trying to teach myself Director. I'm trying to make a menu and I'm having some problems....

I have 3 main buttons. When you click one of the main buttons, 3 sub buttons pop up next to the button pressed. When one of those sub buttons is pressed, a box pops up to the right of the sub buttons and has a list inside containing links to movies. When one of the links is pressed i want the movie to take the place of the links in the box. When the movie is done playing it will disappear and show the links again.

I uploaded what I have done here... http://www.lohrmandesign.com/uploads/Template.dir

If you look at it, could you tell me what I've done correctly, and how I should go about implementing the rest of the menu? I imagine you have to use director movies within the main director movie, but I haven't figured out how to implement that. Or possibly use the .visible command? Thanks for any help...Online resources and examples are scarce for Director it seems.

And I'm not sure if i have to upload all the pics for you to view my movie correctly, If I do, just let me know...
        • 1. Re: I'm a newbie and need some basic help...
          Level 7
          I haven't looked at your Director file, but what you want to do sounds
          pretty simple. First of all, though, can you clarify what you mean by
          "movie," because Director's terminology makes it kind of confusing. Are
          you speaking of a Director movie, or digital video?

If you want to jump to a different Director movie, simply do something
          like this:

on mouseUp me
          go to frame "StartMovie" of movie "Option1"
          end

To get back to your menu, just use an exitFrame command at the end of
          the Director movie that takes you back there.

If you're referring to starting a digital video, just put your video