5 Replies Latest reply on Sep 2, 2006 2:14 PM by wilson1978

Actions on buttons

wilson1978
      Hi all,

ActionScript newbie here. I was just wondering how I can add ActionScript to a button that resides in the library and not on stage. Basically, I am trying to redo a flash site using ActionScript to place elements on stage. Here is the code I am using to load a menu mc:

loadnav = function (temp:String) {
      if (temp == "modeling") {
      modeling_mc = this.attachMovie("modeling_mc", "modeling_mc","0",{_x:25, _y:108.8});
      }
      if (temp == "modeling") {
      modeling_mc = this.attachMovie("modeling_mc", "modeling_mc","0",{_x:25, _y:108.8});
      }
      else if (temp == "home") {
      home_mc = this.attachMovie("home_mc", "home_mc","0",{_x:25, _y:108.8});
      }
      }

// calling the function on home
      loadnav("home");

What I would like to do know is wire up the buttons to include code that passes changes the value of loadnav, thus, changing the menu movie clip.

Hope that makes sense.

Thanks
        • 1. Re: Actions on buttons
          Level 7
          wilson1978,

> ActionScript newbie here. I was just wondering how I can
          > add ActionScript to a button that resides in the library and
          > not on stage.

If you're going to use ActionScript to place assets on the Stage at
          runtime, then it only makes sense to add their ActionScript at runtime, too.
          That is, assign the ActionScript after the asset is already on the Stage.

> Here is the code I am using to load a menu mc:

Okay.

> loadnav = function (temp:String) {

Right off the bat, I suggest you make this a true named function.

That is, this:

function loadnav(temp:String) {...}

... instead of what you have. The reason is that in your version, loadnav
          can only be called *after* it has been declared. The function is a property
          of your loadnav object, rather than loadnav() being a Function object