2 Replies Latest reply on Aug 21, 2006 3:16 AM by McWeeney

Loaded swf can't find sound file

McWeeney
      I'm new to AS and I am probably missing something obvious.

Projector is in the main directory (Demo). It loads an SWF file from a subirectory (Demo/Animations). The SWF file loads a sound file from a further subdirectoy (DemoAnimaitons/Sounds). The SWF tests OK, playing the file. However, when I test the Projector the SWF can't find the file. If I create a sub folder in Demo (Demo/Sounds) and put the sound file there, the projector works.

It seems that, when an SWF file runs from within the projector, the path used to load files is the _URL of the projector and not of the SWF.

I can't find any documentation to confirm this and I am worried in case what I am experiencing is a symptom of some deeper problem in my understanding.

Any advice or help would be appreciated.
        • 1. Re: Loaded swf can't find sound file
          Level 7

McWeeney wrote:
          > I'm new to AS and I am probably missing something obvious.
          >
          > Projector is in the main directory (Demo). It loads an SWF file from a
          > subirectory (Demo/Animations). The SWF file loads a sound file from a further
          > subdirectoy (DemoAnimaitons/Sounds). The SWF tests OK, playing the file.
          > However, when I test the Projector the SWF can't find the file. If I create a
          > sub folder in Demo (Demo/Sounds) and put the sound file there, the projector
          > works.
          >
          > It seems that, when an SWF file runs from within the projector, the path used
          > to load files is the _URL of the projector and not of the SWF.
          >
          > I can't find any documentation to confirm this and I am worried in case what I
          > am experiencing is a symptom of some deeper problem in my understanding.

SWF does not remember its position in directory tree, so when loaded into main movie