4 Replies Latest reply on Jul 29, 2006 9:27 PM by RoboWizard

Navigation Pane and Topic Pane

tech_writer_4_Plexis Level 1
      I am new to RoboHelp. I just did a tutorial and feel like I understood it. I completed my own project, and it worked fine. However, the project I need to work on was begun by someone else at the company I work for, and when I access her project via RoboHelp XML, it is missing the Project Manager, TOC, Index, etc. in the Navigation Pane on the left side, and the Topics Pane on the right side only has Wysiwyg and True Code (missing Links and Topics). When I go up to Tools and choose Pane, I get three options (Tools, TrueCode, and Wysiwyg), and the options I desire aren't there. Since the tutorial taught me how to use RoboHelp using those missing items, I am lost without them. I am hopeful that someone can talk me through getting those back to my screen. Thanks.
        • 1. Re: Navigation Pane and Topic Pane
          Peter Grainge Adobe Community Professional (Moderator)
          Welcome to the forum

First of all is the project on a network drive? If it is move it to your hard disk.

If that makes no difference, I wonder if RH was installed for the previous writer and you are using the same PC? RH must be installed using the logon for the user, that is your logon and you must have admin rights at the time of installation.

This though is not the usual way that problem reveals itself so I am not too optimistic. It is nonetheless the what I would try.

Post back whether or not those ideas make any difference.

• 2. Re: Navigation Pane and Topic Pane
            Peter Grainge Adobe Community Professional (Moderator)
            Just looking a bit further, click on View. Is Left Hand View ticked?

• 3. Re: Navigation Pane and Topic Pane
              tech_writer_4_Plexis Level 1
              Peter: