5 Replies Latest reply on Jul 8, 2006 9:43 AM by jp zoro

Button problem

jp zoro
      Hi,
      I've made three 'Joker' buttons in frame 5. I want these to stay down when they've been hit (which I've done) but now I don't know how to make the Joker move the timeline onto 'nextframe'. You can see the current version of this at http://jpriordan.mysite.wanadoo-members.co.uk/Plenaries/plenary_letters.htm
      I'm new to Flash and teaching myself as I go along. Sorry if this is something really basic!

Thanks for your help.

Here is the exported flash.
      http://jpriordan.mysite.wanadoo-members.co.uk/Plenaries/plenary_letters.htm

Can I put the .fla on this forum so you can have a look?
        • 1. Button problem
          PDMart
          A suppose an easy way to do this would to be to click on each joker button and view the actions for that button (F9 on a pc). Then in the actions, type in the following code, depending on your prefference:

on(release){
          gotoAndPlay(6);
          }

You can change it to " on(press)" if that's what you want or you can change it to "gotoAndStop(6)" if that is the desired effect.

I'm no expert on flash so hopefully i didn't tell you something completely wrong =)

Edit: I believe you can also replace the frame "(6)" with "next"
          • 2. Re: Button problem
            jp zoro Level 1
            Many thank for your reply PDMart.

My problem is that I needed to use a Movie Clip with three frames in it (the third of which is 'hit') not a button as I wanted to the 'button' to stay pressed when it had been hit. Does that make sense? When I double click on the Joker and go to the third frame I've put nextFrame(); in the actions but this doesn't take me to the next frame of the normal timeline.

Best wishes,
            Zoro
            • 3. Re: Button problem
              PDMart Level 1