3 Replies Latest reply on Jul 27, 2006 8:11 PM by gradez28

Trouble accessing class from within components...

gradez28
      I just started playing with flex 2 last night and im pretty happy with it so far, except im having a problem accessing top-level variables and classes from within custom components.

I have a component, manageTickets that is included in the primary file Support.mxml

In Support.mxml I have a class setup like this:

import myClasses.mySites;
      public var mysite:Object = new mySites();

Now, whenever i try to access this class from within my custom component, it throws the following error:
      "1119: Access of possibly undefined property mysite through a reference with static type Class."

I have tried accessing it like this (and a few other ways with no luck)
      Support.mysite.hello();
      root.mysite.hello();

I also have this problem whenever i set a public variable in the main file, and try to access it from the component.

Thanks for any help!
        • 1. Re: Trouble accessing class from within components...
          Rebecca_Hyatt_-Adobe
          Well,
          Support.mysite.hello()
          would only work if mysite were a static variable of Support, which would be defined something like this...
          static public var mysite:Object = new mySites();

If Support is the application file, and you want to set a (non-static) property on it from a component, I believe you want
          Application.application.mysite.hello();

I'd also recommend typing mysite as a mySites object, rather than a generic Object...
          public var mysite:mySites = new mySites()
          That'll let the compiler really know what it is and what members it has.

Rebecca Hyatt
          Adobe
          • 2. Re: Trouble accessing class from within components...
            doug777 Level 1
            You have to pass a reference to the file you want to access:

import myClasses.mySites;
            public var mysite:Object = new mySites(this);