Duration of .swf?

Level 7
      Hi All -

I'm not a flash programmer, I'm just trying to play flash content using =
      the swflash8 OCX in VB6. I'm not sure if there's a better place to post =
      -- please direct me if so.

If anyone has a complete layout of the swflash8 object model with =
      explanations of the methods and properties, I'd love to see it. There =
      seems to be a shortage of good information about the OCX.

For the most part it's pretty intuitive and I've been using it =
      successfully. But now I'm up against something I can't crack.

The material I'm playing is linear and continuous -- either plain =
      animations or embedded FLVs or a mix of both.

I can use the .TotalFrames property to determine the number of frames in =
      the SWF file, but I can't seem to translate that into a number of =
      seconds. There doesn't seem to be a "frames per second" property that =
      would allow me to compute the true running time. I've tried just using =
      30 as the frame rate, but the results don't jibe.

Am I just missing something obvious? I appreciate any pointers or tips.

--=20
      Jim
        • 1. Re: Duration of .swf?
          Level 7
          > If anyone has a complete layout of the swflash8 object model with
          > explanations of the methods and properties, I'd love to see it. There
          > seems to be a shortage of good information about the OCX.

Info on that is on Adboe web site. Look for tech notes on calling flash
          methods from javascript etc.

> I can use the .TotalFrames property to determine the number of frames in
          > the SWF file, but I can't seem to translate that into a number of seconds.
          > There doesn't seem to be a "frames per second" property that would allow
          > me to compute the true running time. I've tried just using 30 as the
          > frame rate, but the results don't jibe.