7 Replies Latest reply on Nov 6, 2008 4:11 PM by jcbluesman

How to import a .png as an asset file?

RachelChi
      Hi,

I'm new to Fireworks and would appreciate some help from here. I have a .png file which collects useful icons that I may reuse, and I wonder how I can import it as an asset (or something else) that I can just drag any icon element in the .png to reuse. Is there a way to do this in Fireworks? When I tried to open the .png file normally, I can't click on each icon element and use it as symbols, it's all just one big picture file. any suggestion?
        • 1. How to import a .png as an asset file?
          heathrowe Most Valuable Participant
          IF all the icon elements are on there separate Layers, then:
          - File > Export > Layers to Files option.
          Then in the Export dialog:
          -- Ensure 'Trim Images' is ticked.
          -- Change the 'Save In' location to <Drive>:\Program Files\Adobe\Adobe Fireworks CS4\Configuration\Common Library\ folder
          -- Create a new folder in this Common Library folder
          - Then Save.

All the Layered elements will be exported to this new folder.

Open Window > Common Library, hit the Refresh icon to the lower right of the panel, and you should see your new folder collection. Double click this library folder to access your individual assets and then drag and drop to your document whwnever you want.

h
          • 2. Re: How to import a .png as an asset file?
            RachelChi Level 1