3 Replies Latest reply on Oct 18, 2006 1:48 AM by Freeseb

How to access a HttpRequest variable

AjithRajD
      I'm a beginner to this new technology. I am trying to build a ecard application using Flex and Rails. I wish to pass a variable to the the flex page
      for example http://localhost:3000/examples/SampleFlexToRubyProject.html?phto_id=1
      How can I access this variable phto_id from flex?
      Please help
        • 1. Re: How to access a HttpRequest variable
          Java_Hero
          Hey AjithRajD ,
          I had a similar question about accessing a variable that was set in the request scope, but I didn't get an answer. After digging around it has come to my attention, that the flex app needs to receive the data in an xml format. Which means that you would have to store that variable in an xml layout. I am using struts and flex, I haven't heard of rails. See below for an example:

Lets say i have a variable that i create in my action class:
          private String str="hey";

Instead of storing in a request scope, i would place that variable in an xml element tag (i used dom4j to create the xml document). i would then store the xml document in a request attribute see below:
          request.setAttribute("xmlfile",xmlObject);

Once the struts controller forwards to myXML.jsp, the jsp would then out.println the request attribute. see below:
          <%out.println( (String) request.getAttribute)%>

see below for example xml output:
          <rootElement>
          <parentElement>
          <childElement>Hey</childElement> -- Remember the “hey” value was stored in the str variable.
          </parentElement>
          </rootElement>

Flex would then read the xmlDocument via the httpService. see below for example