3 Replies Latest reply on Oct 19, 2006 2:24 PM by ntsiii

Application View States -vs- Windows

FatManF31
      Hello,
      I'm a new Flex user, and have just gotten started using Flex 2. I have lots of experience developing web apps using ASP.NET. I have poured over all the downloadable documentation, and most of what I see in the docs are single window samples. I have a flex application to develop that will probably end up being about 25 different screens. I am wondering what the proper way to partition the source code should be. Do I need to create one "MXML Applicaton" per screen? If so, that would result in a different SWF file for each screen, right? When I move from screen to screen, is it going to keep the same session object so I can retain the context of the user's actions? Or, is it the standard practice to try to cram all of the screens into a single MXML Application file as different "View States" and have the entire application load up when they hit the huge single SWF file?
        • 1. Re: Application View States -vs- Windows
          World_Traveler
          I have the same question !!

I too have to develop a rather complex Ordering-Production-Shipping-Billing application. Many screens and lots of business logic.

I will use ColdFusion for the backend and lots of data logic will be in the database and CFC. Flex will handle the user interface part.

But I am not quite sure how to handle the windows part and also the "modal" aspect of the interface.

For now my prototype uses ViewStacks and some panels uses states depending on customer type or product type selected. The user needs to be at the top most view of a main function to access other main functions like Production or Shipping. If a user digs into a main function I remove the options (using states) to jump to other main functions.I want them to close the transactions before jumping to other things in the application.