8 Replies Latest reply on Sep 21, 2006 5:10 AM by Newsgroup_User

Target main.swf and load frame30

Entenie
      Hello everybody,

I recently constructed a new website and it uses two different swf files. The main swf file main.swf is aligned to the toprightcorner of the webpage, and the other swf buttons.swf is at the bottom of the webpage. What I need now is the buttons.swf to whenever a button is hit, the main.swf should play a particular frame. So when I press button 1, frame 30 of main.swf should start playing.

Is this possible? Or is it possible instead of using buttons.swf, I just add different gif images and somehow have those images target the frame within main.swf?

I've been searching for a whole day and I can't seem to find anything. I'm quite new to flash when it comes to adding functions or script.

I hope anyone can help me!

Regards,
      Entenie
        • 1. Re: Target main.swf and load frame30
          pall zoltan Level 1
          hi

look for the ExternalInterface class and read through few times till you understand it and then try to copy-paste the code to make yours work
          coz afterall it _does_ work :)
          • 2. Re: Target main.swf and load frame30
            Level 7
            pall zoltan,

> look for the ExternalInterface class and read through few
            > times till you understand it and then try to copy-paste the
            > code to make yours work coz afterall it _does_ work :)

Well, sure. Of course it works. ;) But based on what the original
            poster wrote, ExternalInterface isn't the answer.

>> The main swf file main.swf is aligned to the toprightcorner
            >> of the webpage, and the other swf buttons.swf is at the
            >> bottom of the webpage.

Are these separate SWFs, then?

>> What I need now is the buttons.swf to whenever a button
            >> is hit, the main.swf should play a particular frame. So when