4 Replies Latest reply on Sep 25, 2006 5:08 AM by TimSymons

xml component -news/image gallery HELP

niietzshe
      Hello As experts ;)
      I am new to Flash (about 2 days) but have intermediate programming experience in MEL.
      I am trying to create a projects page for my site, which consists of a banner per project, it then takes you into an article on the creation of the project...

Each banner has an image, a date, a title and a description.
      Using the xml connector and various label/image loader components I've pulled everything in I need.

What I need some kind help with is now how to set it up so I have one movie clip thats a template for the banner. then it loads the xml data into the banner, if there is meant to be 2 banners for instance, duplicate the movie clip and put the second lot of info into that banner (the flow of the banners should go from bottom to top, so the first one would be knocked down and the second should become the topmost one.)

Hopefully I want to send up with a window with banners cascading down (with scroll bar) and when I want to add a new one, add the relevant info into xml and it will create the new one in flash...

If anyone can give me idiotproof adivice that would be great, this is boggling my head at the moment.
      thanks
      christian
        • 1. Re: xml component -news/image gallery HELP
          TimSymons Level 1
          Christian,

I do similar stuff with XML so I will describe my method but it will not necessarily be the only way to do this.

1. Use the XML class and load in your XML file will all of your information.
          2. Setup a starting _y position variable
          3. Create a loop to loop through each node of your xml file.
          4. For each main node in your XML file attach the template from your library to the movieclip that will contain all of your pieces.
          5. Perform all of the necessary steps to populate your banner.