5 Replies Latest reply on Sep 27, 2006 6:20 PM by C-Sinner

Flash Professional 8

C-Sinner
      So here's the story. I dunno if it's familiar or not but here goes. I'm a student at McMaster university trying out Flash. Just downloaded it and installed (absolutely fine).

So I decide "well how about I try something crazy... like turning on the program". I double-click the brand-new shiny icon on my desktop... and wait.. and wait somemore... I go to Ctrl+Alt+Del (My name is C and I am a windows user) and look at processes. There's still no window but there is "Flash.exe" hogging all of 25 MB of my memory, but it's sitting pretty at zero CPU usage. It aint budging.

So a little about me aside from i like pina coladas but hate walking in the rain:
      Brand spanking new system
      P4-dual core
      2 GB DDR2 RAM (Kingston)
      2 250 GB Hard drives (SATA)
      ATI X1300 (512 MB)

If there's anything more you think will help u figure this one out, just lemme know.

Thanks for your time guys,
      ~C
        • 1. Re: Flash Professional 8
          Walter Elias Level 2
          If you have 2GB RAM, then how is it you have only 25 MB memory left for Flash to "hog"? You must have around ten thousand widgets and custom themes and desktops and 400 chat windows and 3 music players and several videos and at least 3 PC games all going at the same time for something like that to happen. If you're student age, then I'm guessing this is very likely the case. My son (a bit younger than you) finally learned that to get his favorite creative program (Photoshop) to work on a computer that has higher specs than yours, he had to get rid of all that razzle dazzle stuff.

Yes, if your computer's memory gets low, Flash will hang.
          • 2. Re: Flash Professional 8
            Rafiq Elmansy, AEL, ACP Level 2
            Hi,