3 Replies Latest reply on Sep 26, 2006 3:58 PM by BRUSHfire

Anyone know how to do this...

BRUSHfire
      I'm very new to web design and i just saw this site that has pushed me full-on into learning how to do this...
      I'm assuming it was created using flash - it blows me away how simple it all is, yet I have no idea what's going on in it! I just bought Flash software so I'll learn it and play around, but I'd really love to learn some of the techniques this guy uses in his personal site. Things like: did he draw each item in flash? How do the images fade in the way they do - as if they're being painted in? How did he create a new mouse point cursor when you enter the window? Does it all work with rollovers?
      Go here to see what I'm talking about:
      www.jonathanyuen.com
        • 1. Re: Anyone know how to do this...
          Level 7
          there is simply too much to list - it's not *that* simple - but most of it uses basic flash or
          functionality that has been around for several versions - like replacing the cirsor with your own
          custom cursor was available since verion 3 or 4 - it was so widely used back then it quickly became
          cliche - so we didnt see it much anymore - but this site uses it in a nice way.

you can import bbbitmap images inbto flash - and it looks obvious most of his graphics are not
          vector based - so i assume they were made in photoshop and imported in.

as for fading effects - look in help docs and learn about motion tweens, symbols, movie clips,
          timeline, filters, etc....you need to understand how flash works before trying to figure out how a
          site like that was made - if we spent the time to type it all out, you wouldn't understand the
          terminology anyway - stuff like nesting and actionscript etc...

what is your skill level already with flash?

--> **Adobe Certified Expert**
          --> www.mudbubble.com
          --> www.keyframer.com

BRUSHfire wrote: