2 Replies Latest reply on Oct 29, 2007 6:36 AM by (Steve_Guluk)

Got ADDT.  Now what?  Zend?  A Designers view.

Hello,
      Why do you use ADDT?

Is it because you don't know much in the way of coding and like that a graphical interface like DW can do much of the work for you?

Or you know how to code but appreciate how these add on extensions can really shave time off the dev cycle so that means more money in your pocket?

Myself I am primarily a Designer. I realize I need to continually increase my skills and knowledge of peripheral disciplines for many reasons. With programming, need to be able to fix small errors my hired programmers may miss. I need to be able to also effect small changes to code in CF, ASP, PHP and also .NET.

As time goes on I find I'm learning so much that I have to wonder if I am going to have to to jump off the deep end and fully learn to code.

I can make more money if I hire professionals that know what they are doing for larger projects. But these days I find I can whip up some simple programs without too much help.

In comes the extensions...

ADDT and the Web Assist products allow people such as myself to put some things together quite rapidly.

BUT, I also find myself being sucked into learning more and more programming. Being a Designer, I tend to be the one that figures out the design and functionality and do not like being confined by any type of "template" limitations.

So what's next? Zend? I downloaded their latest beta and appreciate it's ability to check syntax and also auto-complete various common elements. If it also had an integrated suite of extensions that allow rapid development it could be a DW - ADDT killer. Seems it would all depend on if it was best suited for the more seasoned user that was used to coding from scratch but, as is the case with these new extensions, liked the benefit of having a program do much of the common task work automatically.