8 Replies Latest reply on Jun 25, 2007 12:33 PM by (Steve_U)

Are Session Variables in PHP Evil?

Hi,
      I am new to PHP and just evaluating Dreamweaver CS3 and ADDT. I have experience with Dreamweaver Ultradev and ASP. I always avoided session variables like the plague with ASP, but it looks like they are used frequently by ADDT. Are session variables a problem? If so, is there a way to configure ADDT to store the information as a cookie instead of a session variable?
      Thanks!
      Steve
        • 1. Re: Are Session Variables in PHP Evil?
          Günter Schenk Level 4
          Hi,

in what sense do you think session variables are a "problem" or even "evil" ?

Günter Schenk
          Adobe Community Expert, Dreamweaver
          • 2. Re: Are Session Variables in PHP Evil?
            Level 1
            Everything I ever read when developing with Active Server Pages said to avoid them-- that they take up memory on the server and for large commercial sites, this can be a significant burden... but maybe the way PHP handles the sessions is different??? ADDT uses them liberally, so hopefully they know what they're doing...
            Here's one of the articles I was referring to.

http://4guysfromrolla.com/webtech/faq/Advanced/faq4.shtml

Thanks for your comments!
            Steve
            • 3. Re: Are Session Variables in PHP Evil?
              Günter Schenk Level 4
              I honestly wouldn´t be bothered about that at all -- unlike a "commercial site" (sort of "web shop" you mean ?) ADDT by default allocates only 2-3 session variables ("kt_login_id", "kt_login_user" and, depending on your login settings "kt_login_level". Adding additional variables is up to you, but you won´t need to) to the respective user throughout the whole process, and once the user logs out, the session will usually be destroyed on the server, means PHP deletes the session files from Apache´s "tmp" folder.