12 Replies Latest reply on Nov 26, 2009 5:35 PM by Was DYP

How to export a CMYK document to a black/white or greyscale pdf for print?

Hello, I have some knowledge in graphics design, but very little about color management.
      Currently I need to convert an instruction manual I made to black and white output only. We'd prefer to keep the indesign (.indd) and it's source images in their respective colors, but when exporting the document to a pdf my printer can use, we'd like to make that document a black and white pdf, as it's a black/white manual anyway. A little color conversion isn't to bad, as long as it's reasonable. all images that might give trouble are in greyscale anyway.

So how do I export a full color indesign document to a black&white/greyscale pdf?

ps:
      very newb question, but if you don't ask, you never learn:
      When do you use the colours "registration", and when do you use "paper"?
        • 1. Re: How to export a CMYK document to a black/white or greyscale pdf for print?
          You can create the PDF with RGB or CMYK
          ingredients and convert it later:
          1. by Quite a Box of Tricks by www.quite.com
          In my older version is no choice for a Dot
          Gain.
          The conversion isn't fully color managed,
          concerning the source spaces (IMO), or it's
          not obvious.
          2. by Acrobat Professional, here version 7.
          >Tools > Print Production > Convert Colors
          > one of CMYK/RGB/Gray/Lab > Convert
          > Dot Gain 15% (example).
          The same problem - it's not obvious which
          source spaces are assumed.
          3. perhaps by PitStop (don't have it).

Definitions:
          Black: K-only black for text and vector graphics.
          registration marks.
          None: nothing printed.
          Paper: paper color, can be changed from white to
          beige for instance, as a simulation of paper color.
          Nothing printed.