10 Replies Latest reply on May 27, 2008 6:25 AM by (Martin_Moore)

New to CMYK- How do I dedicate text to K in CMYK

I am new to CMYK. I am doing a book in CMYK and have converted my files from RGB to CMYK and now the printer is woried about some of the smaller text being missalligned and they are telling me that I need to make the text layers K, not CMYK. The files are created in Photoshop CS3. How do I do that.

Thanks,

Roy
        • 1. Re: New to CMYK- How do I dedicate text to K in CMYK
          (Marco_Ugolini) Level 1
          You mean that you're setting the text is in Photoshop? That's not a good idea, and it also seems that it's in four-color black ("rich black", which is made of tints of CMY as well as K).

The text would be far sharper and clearer, and look far better, if you set it in an application like Illustrator, or InDesign, and make it K-only (black-only), possibly overprinting as well.
          • 2. Re: New to CMYK- How do I dedicate text to K in CMYK
            Level 1
            I am a photographer and I don't have any of those softwares, only photoshop. Is there now way to set the text layers only to just black before I flatten the layers in Photoshop?

Roy
            • 3. Re: New to CMYK- How do I dedicate text to K in CMYK
              Level 1