5 Replies Latest reply on Oct 20, 2008 4:32 AM by MarkWalsh

Better Dev Environment for Acrobat Javascript Dev - Eclipse?

Hi,

I'm a javascript developer that's just starting out developing Acrobat Javascript and would like to know what development tools people use to write their Acrobat JScript code. I've tried just using Acrobat but it's terrible. I'm looking for things like syntax highlight, autocomplete, suggested, code navigation, search, etc.

I normally use Eclipse but can't find a Acrobat plugin to give me the features I want. Any ideas?

Thanks!
        • 1. Re: Better Dev Environment for Acrobat Javascript Dev - Eclipse?
          Patrick Leckey Level 3
          The JavaScript editor in Adobe LiveCycle Designer (for XFA PDFs, which really are the future of PDF forms for Adobe) has syntax highlighting, autocomplete and search functionality.

Personally I use Notepad++ and keep the JS API Ref open next to it, but that's just out of personal preference.
          • 2. Re: Better Dev Environment for Acrobat Javascript Dev - Eclipse?
            DimitriM Level 3
            Hi PDL,

"The JavaScript editor in Adobe LiveCycle Designer (for XFA PDFs, which really are the future of PDF forms for Adobe) has syntax highlighting, autocomplete and search functionality."

I found this statement interesting given the forms capabilities added in Acrobat 8 and many new ones in Acrobat 9- Form Field Recognition, Forms Edit mode, Form Wizard, Adding Reader Extension Rights, all of which will soon be available in Acrobat 9 Standard too (no need for LCD and Std customers won't get it anyway). Seem like a shift in thinking to me as far what the future of PDF forms are for Adobe.

Just a "two cents" comment from me.

As far as the question on JS editors, you can set your preferences in Acrobat to use any number of external editors. If you have a favorite JS editor now (light-weight and fast) go to Edit ->Preferences ->General ->JavaScript and select the Use External JS Editor.