6 Replies Latest reply on Aug 31, 2008 9:37 PM by (gastroboy)

How do I create rollovers in Acrobat?

I need to "reveal " parts of the screen (which I have in layers) as the user rolls over them.

I would also like to reveal a series of options when the user clicks in a particular area to get option 1, 2nd click gets option 2 etc until the last click takes them back to the first option.

First I need to know is this at all possible, if not I won't waste my time.

I am not a programmer so any and all assistance would be much appreciated.

Thank you.
        • 1. Re: How do I create rollovers in Acrobat?
          George_Johnson MVP & Adobe Community Professional
          > I need to "reveal " parts of the screen...

Do you mean parts of a page?

> ...(which I have in layers) as the user rolls over them.

How are these layers implemented, exactly?

George
          • 2. Re: How do I create rollovers in Acrobat?
            Level 1
            Yes when I said screen I meant the page. This will be shown full screen in the final presentation.

Imagine a page divided into quarters, as the mouse moves over each quarter it reveals an image of that quarter.

The layers were created in Illustrator and saved as a pdf with top most layers checked.

I can reveal and hide the layers by clicking on linked areas to change the saved view, but this requires a hide method (other than just moving onto the next clicked item).

I'd also like to use transitions as the quarter is revealed, but from what I've read transitions only apply to changes of pages.
            • 3. Re: How do I create rollovers in Acrobat?
              George_Johnson MVP & Adobe Community Professional
              Yes, I *think* you can do what you want. I don't know much about layers in Illustrator, but I think they're implemented as OCGs (Optional Content Groups) when converted to PDF. OCGs are shown in the Layers pane in Acrobat.