4 Replies Latest reply on Jan 6, 2009 12:44 PM by (Francis_Auger)

Acrobat Forms - javascript to hide/unhide text box if any one of a number of radio buttons is enable

Level 1
      I have a form which I am designing in Acrobat 9 which has a section where there are three questions, each with a pair of radio buttons - one for 'yes' and one for 'no'. They are in the style of a check box (with a tick). I need some help to write some code which will unhide a single field (or multiple fields if I need to use something similar at a later date) if any one of the 'yes' radio buttons is checked. So if all three radio buttons were checked, the field would be hidden but if you then changed your mind and clicked a yes button, the field would be visible.

I am new to this so any help would be greatly appreciated. Many thanks in advance! I hope that i have explained this clearly btw.
        • 1. Re: Acrobat Forms - javascript to hide/unhide text box if any one of a number of radio buttons is enable
          (DSmith6630) Level 1
          I think you meant to say "So if all three radio buttons were checked [no], the field would be hidden but if you then changed you mind and click a yes button, the field would be visible" I guess the field would also be visible if the buttons were not checked.

So, let's give it a try.
          Let's say you name the three sets of radio buttons rb1, rb2 and rb3. The value for a Yes answer is set to "Y" and the value for a No answer is set to "N".
          Let's say the text box you want to hide is called textbox.
          On the MouseUp event on each one of the radio buttons (yes AND no), you should enter the following code:
          if((getField("rb1").value=="Y")||(getField("rb2").value=="Y")||(getField("rb3").value=="Y" ))
          {
          getField("textbox").display=display.hidden;
          //you could add the other fields you mentioned here later
          }
          else
          getField("textbox").display=display.visible;