3 Replies Latest reply on Mar 22, 2009 8:22 AM by Niall O'Donovan

PORTFOLIO FIELD PROBLEMS

Hi! I'm new to acrobat (i have version 9 pro); and have a question.

We are making a Portfolio of about 6 documents (all PDF's). I was looking for a way to have the fields from the first document to fill out the fields on the other documents in the portfolio. They are employment applications; and have basically the same information on each; so this would make the process MUCH easier. Being that they are from different facilities; merging the pdf's are not an option.

Any help would be appreciated!
        • 1. Re: PORTFOLIO FIELD PROBLEMS
          (DSmith6630)
          This would be a really good feature. You used to be able to pass information between forms using global variables, but the usefulness of this was limited by version 8 because you had to set global policies in the reader - not an easy thing for everyday end users. This kind of global variable scenario should be enabled in a portfolio situation. It might be possible to enable this policy through some sort of portfolio security model or something.
          Of course the easier way would be if each document in a form could have access to the form fields of all the other documents in the forms. But this could also cause some problems because two fields in different documents in the same portfolio could have different meanings.
          I am not sure this can be done, but I am looking at the "collection" information in the SDK. If anyone has any ideas, we would both like your help.
          • 2. Re: PORTFOLIO FIELD PROBLEMS
            UVSAR
            Yes, the Collection and Data objects are the way to go. Portfolio 'field names' are independent of the document metadata inside the individual files, but you can get and set fields and their names via JS *provided* you're working inside a Portfolio - otherwise the collection object returns a null.