15 Replies Latest reply on Sep 17, 2008 2:06 PM by George_Johnson

Conditional Submit

I am using a submit command to email an entire PDF document to a department for looking over. I need the subject of the email to change depending on the value of a set of Radio buttons I have place on the form. Does anyone have an idea of how to script this? Thanks!
        • 1. Re: Conditional Submit
          George_Johnson MVP & Adobe Community Professional
          You'll have to use the mailDoc method. How do you currently have it the "submit" action set up? What are the export values of the radio buttons?

George
          • 2. Re: Conditional Submit
            Level 1
            export values are New, Change, Replace, and Hotcode

I am using the submitForm command however Acrobat 8 doesn't want to take it of a an IF var statement. I'm new to coding so If that ,makes no sense just tell me and I'll restate in another way.
            • 3. Re: Conditional Submit
              OK. What you can do set up some code to associate the export values of your check boxes with the corresponding email subject line text that you want to use. I'd suggest setting up an object for this, something like:

// Set up an object to associate a field value
              // with a subject line
              var em_subj = {
                  "New": "This is a sample subject line for this value.",
                  "Change": "This is another subject line.",
                  "Replace": "Yet another subject line.",
                  "Hotcode": "This is the last subject line"
              }

// Get the value of the radio button field
              var v1 = getField("your_radio").value;

// E-mail the PDF if the user has made a selection
              if (v1 != "Off") {
                  mailDoc({
                      cTo: "user@example.com; another1@example.com",
                      cSubject: em_subj[v1],
                      cMsg: "E-mail body text goes here. See attached PDF."