6 Replies Latest reply on Nov 26, 2008 10:33 PM by (JesseV)

Write text based on an item of combobox

Hello,

I'm very new with Acrobat scripting and need some help. I've tried a number of kind of syntaxes, but the result stays the same.

I have a combobox (Trade_mark) with 2 items: car, moto.
      I want to write a script when I select moto, then there must be write a number (1) to a field (test).

This is what I already tried:

var manual=this.getField("Trade_mark");
      var kind=manual.getItemAt();

function moto(){
      var test=this.getField("test");
      test.value="1";
      }

if kind=moto{
      moto
      };

I have already used parentheses after moto-function and not, I already inserted ";" but the result stays always the same.
      Did I use the right syntax to call the syntax moto?
      If there are other suggestions, they are welcome too!
        • 1. Re: Write text based on an item of combobox
          Level 1
          I use Acrobat 5 for Macintosh
          • 2. Re: Write text based on an item of combobox
            gkaiseril MVP & Adobe Community Professional
            Do you understand the use of objects, operators,the syntax, and event actions of Acrobat JavaScript?

Where exactly is the action for this script located?

You can accomplish what you want with a "Custom calculation script" for the "test" field as simple as:

event.value = ''; // clear field
            // if the "Trade_mark" field's value is "moto"
            if (this.getField("Trade_mark").value == "moto"){
            event.value = 1; // set event field equal to 1
            };

You may want to look at the eSeminars on demand at the Acrobat User Community, http://www.acrobatusers.com/ .
            • 3. Re: Write text based on an item of combobox
              Level 1
              That's indeed a good suggestion! But I prefer a kind of subprograms and that's the problem. How can I create a subprogram and last but not least: How do I call a subprogram in that script?